Technology to help men

makeapp.jpg

More details on this new “app” here.

As I have written before, as technology advances, it gives men new opportunities to fight back against misandrist views and behaviours. Personally, I have never been much concerned about women using makeup, but this app does demystify another female tactic.

The above supposed tweet from Ana Kasparian is probably not real. However, it makes the point.

Commentary:

‘Problematic’ Makeup Removing App ‘MakeApp’ Causes Mass Triggering

———-

This was my wife when we were young. After a swim. I think she looked good without makeup. (I assume that’s my thumb on the left!)

———-

kodswim

Here she is with makeup:

19250375_722572517929081_7248698793106120734_o.jpg

 

Here is a good example of makeup off and on:

makeuponoff.jpg

[Katherine Ross Ridenhour was arrested Wednesday for allegedly having an inappropriate relationship with a male student.  (Concord Police Department/Facebook)]

23843423_1153427824790350_8792760024674785466_n.jpg

 

26 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roman Lance on November 16, 2017 at 3:52 pm

    The biggest reason these women look ridiculous is that without makeup they look golumesque due to their lack of eyebrows.

    It changes their entire “look”, and not for the better.

    Reply

  2. That is hilarious! Just like the magazine Photoshop before/after pics you see. They don’t call it “putting their face on” for nothing.

    Reply

  3. […] via Technology to help men — Julian O’Dea […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on November 16, 2017 at 6:12 pm

    It is amusing and, for once, men are not the butt of the joke.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 16, 2017 at 11:00 pm

      Women started the sex war but I have always felt men will finish it. We are more clever and we have this kind of technology now.

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 16, 2017 at 11:03 pm

        And I no longer “pull my punches” in discussion with women. They went low years ago now. The gloves are off.

      • Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on November 17, 2017 at 4:03 am

        I think that as long as it ends in laughter, it will make them all the more angry.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 17, 2017 at 4:05 am

        Women are deficient in humour. And they are all sensitive about their appearance. This kind of app is a “killer app” in the sex war.

  5. Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 16, 2017 at 8:11 pm

    My wife has never worn much makeup. I sometimes wish she had. But she has always looked good without it. And at least one can see what one has.

    Reply

    • Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on November 17, 2017 at 4:06 am

      I remember “Ivory girls”. It was a long running advertising campaign to promote Ivory soap. People were to submit pictures of women that looked great with their faces freshly washed, sans makeup.

      Reply

  6. People who enjoyed this, might also enjoy:

    Did painted lady Charlotte Proudman learn the tricks of her trade by watching the Feminist Makeup Tutorial?

    Did painted lady Charlotte Proudman learn the tricks of her trade by watching the Feminist Makeup Tutorial?

    Reply

  7. Posted by Knight Errant on November 16, 2017 at 11:14 pm

    Call it for what it is … not makeup but camouflage.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 17, 2017 at 2:01 am

      What was an eye-opener for me a while back was seeing how good makeup can make transsexuals look. As fake women.

      Reply

  8. I think this is so weird, because most of my female friends wear makeup *for* their husbands, sometimes as a special favor…

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 17, 2017 at 9:21 pm

      Yes. I am fairly certain the above photo of my wife is after a swim. She wasn’t smiling but one can see that she looks quite nice with no makeup. She has rarely worn it and most of my old pictures of her have her without it. On rare occasions, she wore a little and it made her look more conventionally pretty.

      In fact, in makeup she looked to my eye as attractive as many actresses with their makeup. Perhaps that was just my “wife goggles” but I shall add a photo of her made up now above.

      And yes, makeup has sometimes been for more intimate moments. Lipstick in particular.

      Reply

  9. Here’s the thing about that app, Julian. I don’t think it is reliable.

    For example, at the very bottom of my “about” page is a photo of me sans makeup. Zero, zip, nada. I like to use the occasional photograph of myself without makeup because it provides some realism, without the pretense that could be mistaken if I only showed myself in full paint.

    Someone could take THAT picture, stick it in the MAKEAPP, and give the impression that my brown skin is more wrinkly or blemished than it is. Problem is that it’s pretty normal for women of African descent to have good skin in our 40’s so the illusion would be the apps reproduction, not the reality.

    Unless a woman is wearing a LOT of makeup or is having her makeup done for a movie or professional photo shoot, it is my experience that makeup really doesn’t make women look like a totally different person.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 17, 2017 at 9:13 pm

      I have seen similar criticisms. The app is not perfect since it tends to wash colour out of eyes and hair. Which makes no sense.

      Reply

  10. Problem with the app is it just mutes the colors if you know what to look for you can still see the makeup. I wont effect contouring or really good blending to much. Its a filter something like this needs at minimum a predictive algorithm to work as advertised.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 20, 2017 at 4:29 am

      Perhaps some ingenious man will improve it. It seems a possible candidate for a learning program. It might be possible to train it with examples of before and after makeup pictures. Perhaps like a facial recognition program. Perhaps using a neural network.

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 25, 2017 at 5:54 am

        The claim is that “MAKEAPP uses neural network technology to digitally add or remove makeup from any face.”

  11. Posted by some random guy on November 20, 2017 at 10:49 pm

    I see some comments about how this app isn’t perfect and that is very true- it ain’t perfect. But so what? It’s good enough. You say we don’t REALLY get to see what her face looks like? I say we didn’t before so what have we got to lose? The man who invented this deserves many thanks.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Timothy Thotosmith on January 23, 2018 at 3:09 pm

    As a young woman hater myself, this made me heartily laugh! Thank goodness we [males] have this kind of ground breaking technology so we can finally unmask these frauds!! Oh this did make me chuckle wholeheartedly!!

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 24, 2018 at 12:07 am

      I hope I am not a “woman hater”. Although I suppose it does no harm for men to have a few tools to fight back with in the ancient “battle of the sexes”.

      Reply

Leave a comment