Should wives be spanked?

The topic of corporal punishment has raised its head in the Manosphere again.

From what I have read, erotic spanking is common in marriages. This is consensual of course. And usually it is the husband spanking the wife. Although occasionally the opposite – there is no accounting for taste.

Personally, I don’t see a problem with a wife being spanked as a form of “punishment”. But only if it is consensual (either formally or tacitly). And, frankly, in most cases I suspect this would be largely erotic anyway.

I can’t see corporal punishment working in a real marriage. Without consent I mean. That is not the way Christian marriages are meant to work.

spank1.jpg

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on July 28, 2017 at 5:45 am

    Poor Maureen O’Hara. In every movie she played with John Wayne, she got spanked.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Roman Lance on July 28, 2017 at 8:34 am

    I like the scene in “The Quiet Man” where the village woman gave him the “nice stick to beat the pretty lady”.

    But I don’t know, if a husband is supposed to lead it seems corporal punishment of some sort should not be entirely “off the table”.

    I know of some women who would have benefited greatly from a few good spankings.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 28, 2017 at 8:40 am

      I am not convinced that scripture (or Tradition in the Catholic sense) is against corporal punishment for wives. I see nothing clearly against it. Nor, I suppose, clearly in its favour.

      I tend to think that – in a marriage – if it works, it works.

      I sometimes tease my wife that she comes from a long line of women who were probably spanked on occasion.

      Reply

      • Posted by Roman Lance on July 28, 2017 at 9:21 am

        I’ve never felt the need to spank my wife, she may have been thoughtless sometimes, but she never did anything that even comes close to meriting spanking as punishment.

        However, for it’s erotic effect, she likes it. I don’t get it myself, can’t say it’s something I would enjoy. But hey, it’s her world I’m just renting space in it. 🙂

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 28, 2017 at 10:05 am

        Yes. That sounds rather familiar.

        I saw an article a few years ago that said 1 in 3 wives is spanked. If I recall correctly. Last time I looked the article couldn’t be found. I suspect it was taken down for reasons of gender politics.

  3. Frankly, if my wife did something egregious enough to be spanked, I’d much rather be able to just put her out of the house for a couple of days or until I thought sufficient. I have no interest in spanking another adult in a punitive manner. But if it works for others, so be it.

    I did see see a girl at the gym yesterday who had the perfect “spank-able” backside, but that’s another story entirely.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 28, 2017 at 12:57 pm

      I tend to see a spanking as a relatively minor punishment. A woman I know says it is a bit painful, a bit humiliating, and a bit titillating.

      If a woman did something seriously wrong, I am not sure what would be appropriate. A spanking wouldn’t seem appropriate to me. That’s relatively mild and even playful.

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 28, 2017 at 1:03 pm

        Spanking is pretty clearly sexual of course. The woman bares her nether regions. She is then repeatedly struck there with a firm object. It is an obvious parody of intercourse.

      • Posted by Kentucky Headhunter on July 28, 2017 at 2:22 pm

        If you see spanking as minor, what would you consider to be more severe?

        Really the whole idea that a husband would somehow be able to discipline his wife at all in our current situation boggles the mind. 1800’s John Wayne can do as he wishes, but in this Duluth Model-centric culture, the male gaze can get a man fired.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 28, 2017 at 7:37 pm

        Well, I am assuming the woman’s basic compliance.

  4. Posted by Jim on July 30, 2017 at 4:52 am

    Yes.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 30, 2017 at 5:26 am

      Seriously, I don’t see a compelling argument against it, based on scripture or tradition. I know people refer to a verse from Peter and so on, but I don’t see a final argument (either way). I think it would depend on the time and the couple and the surrounding social mores. (It was also Peter who referred approvingly to Sarah calling her husband “lord”.)

      Obviously this would have to be tacitly or explicitly agreed by the wife. In reality, it is not that easy to spank an unwilling woman. Apart from the morally dubious aspect of forcing her.

      Reply

      • Posted by Jim on July 30, 2017 at 7:51 pm

        “Obviously this would have to be tacitly or explicitly agreed by the wife. In reality, it is not that easy to spank an unwilling woman. Apart from the morally dubious aspect of forcing her.”

        Baloney. You might as well ask your child if you can discipline them. Men just don’t have the balls to do what is necessary anymore. And people wonder why feminism arose in the first place?

Leave a Reply

