If I had died

If I had died at fifteen
in that hospital bed wet
with blood, I would have seen
the last sight of a pretty nurse’s
face, untouched.

But should I die soon,
these decades later, I would
find death an easing of all
pain and see your face
below me as I struggle in
the embrace of eternity.

 

(Julian O’Dea)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roman Lance on July 22, 2017 at 5:55 am

    Interesting. Evocative encapsulated pathos.

    Well done.

    Reply

    • Posted by "L" on July 22, 2017 at 3:52 pm

      Does this have something to do with your illness that you mentioned in the email you sent me?
      If so I would hope that you would answer my question before you go đź‘Ť

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 22, 2017 at 10:28 pm

        Sorry “L”. I don’t understand your question.

        I have had a health scare. Yes. But I hope it is nothing serious.

        A poem is not necessarily autobiography.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 23, 2017 at 2:12 am

        Oh. Now I remember. Sorry. I forgot about your questions. And I have had computer problems lately. I have saved your questions though and I will try to reply soon.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on July 23, 2017 at 7:14 am

        L, I have now replied to your questions at my latest blog post. My apologies for taking such a long time to reply.

Leave a Reply

