The Pool

I can still almost feel

the light breeze

beside the warm pool

on that welcoming night

as we sat on the low wall,

you with your legs

clasped under your

new skirt, and gazed

together into the water

in shared delight

at the image we made,

until the breeze

took it away

and we moved on

for other lovers

to take their turn.

 

(Julian O’Dea)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roman Lance on May 29, 2017 at 2:45 pm

    So as I was reading your poem I suddenly had this image of a fair maiden sitting next to Snidely Whiplash. Legs “clasped” together with twine just before he takes her to the next set of rails; to be rescued by Dudley.

    Is that weird? 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on June 10, 2017 at 1:08 am

      No. Not weird.

      I was consciously trying to do a couple of things with:

      you with your legs
      clasped under your
      new skirt,

      I was trying to make the memory seem more real by providing this detail. And I was trying to subtly suggest a girl buying a new skirt to go out in, and to impress a boyfriend. And also, “clasped” suggests a certain maidenly virtue.

      So your association seems fine to me.

      (BTW, I just found and approved a few old comments, including this one of yours, which explains my belated reply.)

      Reply

      • Posted by Roman Lance on June 19, 2017 at 4:00 am

        Actually, I thought I said something off-putting. So I haven’t commented in some time. It’s good to “hear” all is well.
        🙂

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on June 19, 2017 at 4:23 am

        I have been missing some comments. I am going to have to check regularly in the Admin section of my blog in future.

  2. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on May 29, 2017 at 8:06 pm

    At least you didn’t have to put up with this.

    Still, a very well behaved elephant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

