A girl explains why she is no longer an “altar girl”

“B” writes:

“I went through a crappy RCIA during which someone encouraged me to altar serve, and I was also encouraged by a dodgy nun before I knew there were such things.

After a while I started attending Latin Masses, I asked the question one day and someone gently explained to me why only boys altar served. I went on a trad pilgrimage after a year or so of serving and saw the most beautiful liturgy of my life and noticed only men did it, and did so with such a profound respect and solemnity. I chatted to a priest there about it and he encouraged me (in a very fatherly and gentle way) to resign to the bishop (who was a big traditionalist himself but was pressured into having women on the altar by a diocese that hated him).

I did this once I got back and the bishop said he totally understood. Next thing I heard, he had told a bunch of trad priests about it at a national conference, mentioning I had been a really excellent server too, but he was impressed I resigned. I think it was definitely and inspiration from God and a lot of loving and encouraging Catholics around me so told me the truth.”

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on May 25, 2017 at 6:53 pm

    I won’t say anything about altar bears. No, not a word.

    Reply

  2. Reblogged this on To our bodies turn we then and commented:
    A beautiful account.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

