The parrot

 

I see the parrot screech and turn

like the figurehead of the wind,

raising its bright, insolent crest

over the wide sea of green fields

below, 

where gleaming irrigation booms 

like rigging on working boats

water the waving grass

to the horizon.

 

(Julian O’Dea)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roman Lance on May 19, 2017 at 6:38 am

    Interesting imagery you created. With your poetry I realize, as the reader, I must put myself in the in the place of the subject in order to see what you are “getting at”.

    You’re subtle yet colorful. I like the way your mind works when you poet.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on May 19, 2017 at 7:46 am

      Thanks. I took a bit of time over that one, fiddling with it.

      I had thought I had run out of ideas, not that I care that much because I don’t think of myself as a poet really, but that one came along. I get most of my ideas from simple observations.

      Reply

      • Posted by Roman Lance on May 19, 2017 at 2:05 pm

        Don’t sell yourself short. Some of us appreciate what your write, even if you don’t think yourself very good.

        Besides, your reluctance to accept your ability is a sign of your humility. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

