Lourdes Order of Malta uniforms

From a movie:

Lourdes-A-e1269629141231.jpg

A Facebook acquaintance recently posted a photo of herself in a similar uniform to that worn by the girl above.

As someone remarked, it looks like the way ordinary nurses used to dress, for example when I was a young patient in the early 1970s. (Although with less elaborate headpieces.)

The movie is reviewed here:

http://www.ferdyonfilms.com/2010/lourdes-2009/3482/

I was taken to Lourdes as a child. I believe it helped me on my way to having a full life despite a fairly serious congenital condition.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on May 7, 2017 at 1:27 am

    The Knights Hospitaller lives on. They were always a nursing order, but became a martial order fro the Crusades and remained so until they ceded Malta to Napoleon. Since then, they have needed a home.

    Reply

    • Posted by Glengarry on May 9, 2017 at 2:07 pm

      I recently visited Malta, and the Knights are, to an extent, back. They have a discreet office in Valletta as well as a long lease on space in a fortress across the harbor. The order’s current home is in Rome, however. It’s a curious relic of the past.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Glengarry on May 9, 2017 at 11:41 am

    From the review:


    Welcome back to Theology 101. In our last class, we talked about The Rapture and the possibility that God is a narcissistic turd. Today, we will discuss miracles and the possibility that the Virgin Mary hasn’t got any more influence over her narcissistic, turdy lord and master than any other woman who has subordinated herself to an overbearing man.

    And later in the comments, the reviewer remarks:

    I had a strange feeling watching it. Secular Jew that I am, I still have a distaste for idol worship. etc etc

    Every … single … time, as they say.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on May 9, 2017 at 12:24 pm

      Yes. I read the review. My feeling is that “any publicity is good publicity”.

      I think I saw this film, and at best it was ambivalent about Lourdes. But if there is anything genuine about it, it will live on as a holy place.

      Reply

      • Posted by Glengarry on May 9, 2017 at 1:58 pm

        Sorry, I mainly quoted it for focus and for those who did not click through. I’d on consideration call it a dirty review, because of the semi-obscene tone, and because of the semi-hidden origins.

Leave a Reply

