When first you undress for your man

DRAFT

WHEN FIRST YOU UNDRESS FOR YOUR MAN

When first you
undress for your
man, he will love
to see you look
a little shy.

But make a silken
pool at your feet
and then step
from it naked as
the sky.

Then turn a little
like a candle
on a stand
to leave nothing
shaded from
the light.

And dance a little
like a flame
in his eye
so he can laugh
and take delight.

 

 

(Julian O’Dea)

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on April 29, 2017 at 6:11 pm

    I like the image of the silken pool at her feet.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Roman Lance on April 29, 2017 at 10:53 pm

    I remember helping my wife remove her wedding dress after our reception. A beautiful specimen she was. And to do it in my in-laws house just heightened the feeling of moment.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on April 29, 2017 at 11:19 pm

      I can imagine.

      Erotic moments are treasured.

      Reply

      • Posted by Roman Lance on April 29, 2017 at 11:40 pm

        Of course by “doing it” at my in-laws house I was referring to the dress removal…not IT! lol :}

        That came later.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on April 29, 2017 at 11:54 pm

        The charm of such moments is subtle but real. A young man is gradually turning somebody’s daughter into his wife. This reality is more muted these days but still real. We remain earthy people underneath and these old feelings and realities remain.

  3. Posted by Julian O'Dea on April 29, 2017 at 11:20 pm

    Of course this is just a poem. Not necessarily autobiography or serious advice.

    Reply

  4. I like this one. You say it’s a draft?

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on April 30, 2017 at 11:07 am

      No. It’s probably finished. I am glad you like it, Mrs ktc. I prefer it if women like my poems of this kind. It makes me feel I have not fallen into crudity.

      I shall probably try to get this one published, possibly in the Poetry D’Amour anthology run by the the Western Australian Poets group or elsewhere.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

