The tree of life

Fallen from the tree of life,

like autumn leaves we die alone;

together, green, we fill the sky;

on our own we’ll lie like stone.

 

(Julian O’Dea)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Maryse Usher on April 3, 2017 at 11:16 pm

    Inspirational!

    Reply

  2. It reminds me of a little autumnal piece I wrote a few years ago – the Baron and I took a day trip to Kyneton, where we spent our time admiring the lichen on the train station, and plodding through the sod and decaying oak leaves in the park. In a fit of hipster whimsy, I wrote on the back of one leaf:

    I once was green
    But now I’m brown
    I loved the tree –
    She let me down.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on April 4, 2017 at 1:54 am

      Sweet.

      I read a story of two great Chinese poets (Li Po and another one) who were supposed to write beautiful poems on leaves and then toss them into a river to be lost forever.

      Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be a source for the story besides the American poet who told the tale on FB recently.

      Still, it is a nice story. The theme of the lost poem. I wrote this haiku about a Japanese death poem:

      the laughing wave
      that washed away
      his death poem

      In reality, knowing poets, they are hardly likely to just toss good poems away!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

