A typical librarian

images-4389

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on April 2, 2017 at 5:56 pm

    Shhhhh!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Maryse Usher on April 2, 2017 at 10:10 pm

    In your dreams, O’Dea!

    Reply

  3. A beautiful picture of how attractive a lady can be without explicitly showing anything but the hip/waist ratio. I get to remind people from time to time that men worth marrying don’t need to see every curve to figure out a lady is beautiful.

    Reply

  4. More fantastical to my mind. But your heading might have been wryly sarcastic.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on April 5, 2017 at 6:54 am

      It was a sort of joke. It followed this anecdote I shared on Facebook recently:

      I just saw someone using the “she looks like a librarian” line.
      That reminds me of a conversation I once had with a female subordinate at work:
      FS: She looks like a librarian.
      Me: What do you mean?
      FS: Oh, you know, glasses, hair in a bun, dowdy.
      Me: Really? My wife is a librarian.

      My wife was indeed a librarian but pretty cute:

      https://davidcollard.wordpress.com/2016/06/28/my-wife-when-young-after-a-swim/

      Reply

      • Ha ha well well done then. And dowdy needn’t be a criticism of a naturally beautiful woman who concerns herself more with matters of intellect over superficiality.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on April 5, 2017 at 7:00 am

        Actually, I know what they mean. Even when she was young and shapely, she used to dress modestly. I suppose she is a bit like the stereotypical librarian in that sense.

Leave a Reply

