Fifties women: often with short hair and in slacks

17309364_969537856513938_5299319340543670603_n-1

1958.

The girl on the left is sporting a very typical look from the time.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on March 17, 2017 at 11:51 pm

    They are very different from present day women. To begin with, they have waists.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on March 18, 2017 at 12:03 am

      Well, they are models. But your general point stands. It irritates me when I see claims that “real women have curves”, which translates to “are fat”. I remember when young women at least were mostly slim. I have posted pictures on this before. Women today tend to be overweight for the simple reason that they eat too much.

      Reply

      • Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on March 18, 2017 at 3:17 am

        When I think of curves, I think of Sophia Loren. She very much has a waist. They must be confused about something.

      • Posted by fuzziewuzziebear on May 27, 2017 at 5:10 pm

        In revisiting this post, I failed to mention the glaringly obvious. They are wearing slacks and have their hair cut short but still manage to look feminine. What happened?

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on May 28, 2017 at 12:09 am

        I think that is an interesting question and I suspect I have touched on it before when I have shown other pictures of women from that era. And it fits with my personal recollection. I think women looked softer and happier then because they were not under (often self-imposed) pressure to do as much as they now try to do.

Leave a Reply

