The girl I married 31 years ago

Our 31st wedding anniversary is next week.

My wife at about 25, holding one of our first cats.

13346964_540826219437046_5229184900086834406_n.jpg

29 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 14, 2017 at 2:57 am

      Thank you. We have had our share of ups and downs, but we have survived so far.

      Reply

      • life is ups and downs.

        good for y’all for sticking in there. it’s so much better to endure the race with one than many.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 14, 2017 at 3:13 am

        Marrying someone is a bit of a gamble. But we have both grown up a lot since we were young and silly.

  2. Posted by Katyn on January 14, 2017 at 1:24 pm

    I’m an older gentleman, pretty red pilled from experience before the red pill was even a thing, but you are very lucky. Your love is obvious. Best of luck in your future.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 14, 2017 at 1:42 pm

      Thank you. I have improved our marriage with red pill insights in recent years. I learned a lot that was practical from the Manosphere.

      Reply

      • curious … what are some RP things that have really helped you?

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 14, 2017 at 2:39 pm

        How frank do you want me to be? My wife doesn’t read this blog but you may not like my response.

      • the truth – whatever you’re willing to share.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 14, 2017 at 3:02 pm

        It is very late here Ame. I shall write a response tomorrow when I have had time to think.

        If you were on Facebook I could message you privately. And there is something called kik too. But otherwise I shall be as frank as possible here.

      • no worries. i am on fb, but not as Ame. you are always welcome to email me at my gmail acct talkiname. but whatever you’re comfortable with. this kind of stuff is very intriguing to me not only for myself but especially given the ages of my daughters.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 14, 2017 at 3:12 pm

        Yes. I tried to warn my own daughter about boys using “game”.

        OK. I think I understand that address. I shall try it tomorrow when I have had time to think about the topic properly.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 15, 2017 at 12:36 am

        Ame, I have sent you an email.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on January 15, 2017 at 1:14 am

        Actually Ame perhaps it would be better if I leave comments on your blog. You can moderate the discussion there if it becomes too frank.

        I’ll leave a comment at your blog now.

  3. Congratulations!

    Reply

  4. Posted by some random guy on January 14, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    I’m curious also. Whatever you’re willing to share openly.

    I’very been married twenty six years and I too have added much red pill knowledge to how I handle not just my marriage but all of my relationships. I also help my son (25) and his friends.

    Reply

    • Some Random Guy – i’d be very interested to know what of TRP you have successfully integrated into your life, too, if you’d be willing to share. i do pass all wisdom to my daughters … and i do love a success story 🙂

      Reply

      • Posted by some random guy on January 15, 2017 at 12:14 am

        I’m not sure where to begin but I’ll try:

        I first became aware of RP/PUA concepts about eighteen years ago. Though initially skeptical I decided to try them. Success convinced me early on that it was worthwhile. Many of these I’ve incorporated to the point where I no longer am conscious of practising them though some I still put great effort towards.

        In no particular order:

        Reading body language and facial expressions
        Comparing words with actions
        Greater sociability (I’m very introverted)
        Dressing well though not so much formally
        Physical fitness – I don’t lift weights as I’m a boilermaker by trade but I hike and ride a mountain bike
        Communications skills, both written and spoken
        Persuasion skills such as those Scott Adams wrote about during the recent election. I first learned some basics from “How to win friends and influence people”.
        Decisiveness, especially in the small things
        Listening well
        Discerning the face behind the makeup
        Busting shit tests immediately even if I don’t have the perfect comeback
        Maintaining dominance and comfort in good proportion
        Being the Alpha Male of the Group without being unbearable

        That list may come off as being a bit much but keep in mind these are things to work on or towards rather than a CV of skills mastered.

      • Some Random Guy – that’s not a bit much … but it is HUGE. kudos to you, especially to incorporate it so into your life that you don’t even think about it anymore.

        thank you for sharing; i really appreciate it.

      • Some Random Guy –

        would you mind if i copied this within a post on my blog? Julian and i continued this discussion here: https://blendingame.wordpress.com/2017/01/11/a-faithless-wife/ … and i plan to combine it all into a blog post. i’d like to include your comment, with your permission.

      • Posted by some random guy on January 18, 2017 at 9:23 pm

        Go for it.

  5. Warm congratulations Julian and Beloved Wife. A great achievement these days. May you both have many more decades of happiness together.

    Reply

  6. […] out here in cyberspace. Julian recently put up a post sharing his 31st wedding anniversary titled, The Girl I Married 31 Years Ago. In the comments Julian responded to a commenter saying: “I have improved our marriage with […]

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jim on January 18, 2017 at 10:51 pm

    A little late but congrats on your marriage Julian. I’m happy for you and your wife.

    Reply

  8. […] the comments of Julian’s post, The Girl I Married 31 Years Ago,  a commenter who goes by Some Random Guy […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

