Is this a boy or a girl?

One of the strange things about photos, once they are on the Internet, is that people appropriate them to illustrate their own stories and fantasies. I once had one of my posts appear in someone’s online story. It was all a bit mystifying.

This looks very like a real girl to me, but she seems to be tagged as a (male) sissy maid in a few places. Here for example.

I don’t know. This looks like a real girl doing cosplay to me. Perhaps I am losing my touch.

tumblr_inline_oavaeasygn1safd2x_1280

22 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jg1 on November 20, 2016 at 1:54 pm

    I cannot explain it, but, my gut feeling is that it is a boy. There is something strange about the head and hair…even the face looks like a male to me…

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 20, 2016 at 2:30 pm

      Yes. The hair looks a bit like a wig.

      On the other hand, most sissies tend to overemphasise the female traits and this person has a modest bosom. The spectacles also seem unlikely in a sissy maid.

      I would say that the hands and body size seem too delicate for a male. But that is not definitive.

      But like you jg1, I get this nagging male vibe.

      Reply

    • If not for the hands, I’d think that this is a mannequin; otherwise, I agree with you that there is something that makes me think that this is a male, albeit an androgynous one.
      The high collar covers the neck — which can also hide a pronounced larynx (‘Adam’s apple’), a sure tip-off; and the high forehead makes me think that the hair is a wig. The slope of the shoulders seems to be higher than a typical female’s, and the developed, slightly dimpled jaw seems to be more of a male (but modern Western females seem to have what are called “man-jaws”), but the visible roundness of the earlobes seems to more of a female.
      A very modest bosom to be sure, but males (just like females) can always wear ‘falsies’ of any size.

      Reply

  2. Posted by jg1 on November 20, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    I did not notice any bosom, maybe because of the maid’s attire. On the other hand, a woman with an ample bosom will be readily noticed irrespective of outfit!!

    Reply

  3. 1) I hate that we’re going to spend all our time looking for tells now. Every masculine looking woman or feminine looking man is in Hell from here on out.

    2) suspect male, from jaw. Distance from lip-to-chin is generally longer in males than females. Used to play second life, back in the day when you had to adjust your own avatar, and that was one of the easy ways to tell that a man was driving a female avvie – the lips would be too high.

    3) Hair is absolutely a wig.

    4) Makeup is particularly heavy over potentially bearded area, which tends (on women) to be a lightly foundationed area – usually not too much to cover up down there. A heavily bearded male is going to need pancake makeup even after a close shave.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 20, 2016 at 4:42 pm

      Yes. All good reasons.

      There IS something masculine about the face, which I can’t put in words; except to say there is a masculine firmness about the face. Something forceful in the expression.

      But yes, I think you have identified it too. The jaw is long and the chin prominent. And I think I can just see the shadow of a beard.

      Reply

    • Posted by Glengarry on November 21, 2016 at 12:20 pm

      Isn’t it great that we live in a world where we have to know these things?

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 21, 2016 at 12:29 pm

        I must admit to finding such topics very interesting. There is a young man at the hairdresser I go to who dresses as a woman. I would love to interview him.

        If there is anyone out there like that who wants to be interviewed by email, just leave a comment at this blog.

        A brief interview I did with a girl doing a science PhD who wanted to be a “bimbo” has been read by about 1400 people:

        https://www.academia.edu/11904265/The_bimbo_fetish_and_lifestyle

      • Posted by Glengarry on November 21, 2016 at 1:11 pm

        Egads. Well, see if you can get his rationalisation of tricking straight men into doing something they probably rather wouldn’t.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 21, 2016 at 1:20 pm

        Who is tricked? The cross-dresser does not hide his being male and in fact uses his male name. He doesn’t disguise his voice (which has that gay intonation.) When he cuts my hair or brings me a coffee I know it is a male providing the service. I am not much bothered by it.

        I suppose I would find waiting on a customer in women’s clothing and fetching a coffee very humiliating. But I am not him.

      • Posted by Glengarry on November 21, 2016 at 1:27 pm

        Well, inspired by the photo above, I suppose many could be. But your hairdresser might be an exception to the paradigm.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 21, 2016 at 1:33 pm

        I have spoken to him when he cut my hair, so I know he is a male. But otherwise I think I would assume he is the female he appears to be. His voice is a bit deep for a woman but some women have deep voices (my wife does.)

        As for the sissy maid, that is probably sexual masochism or passive homosexuality expressed femininely. I used to naively think they just like dressing up, but it seems they often allow themselves to be used like a woman. Sort of.

      • No. No it is NOT. I have teenagers. Are they going to have to ask for DNA swabs?

  4. Look at the hands too. Forehead and hair line are masculine, but that can be adjusted.

    In Canada, this discussion just may be hate crime someday soon:

    JB Peterson Debate on Bill C-16 19th Nov 2016

    I wish it was a joke.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Glengarry on November 21, 2016 at 12:46 pm

    Speaking of trannies, of a sort, I just started reading Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City without knowing much about it except it apparently showcased the modern ‘daily serialised novel’. It was set in San Francisco in the 70s. (Cue ominous music.)

    After the first few chapters, with half a dozen female characters, it was obvious that these figures were homosexuals in gender drag (hence the perhaps tenuous relevance to this post). The main character so far, Mary Ann, comes to visit for a vacation, then phones home to break off all contact with her Cincinnati parents who are well-meaning but controlling and don’t understand her for what she is and she’s like a grown up now. She moves in with her highschool friend, who is now deep in the massive anonymous screwing lifestyle, samples it but so far rejects it, then moves on to a rental house with an agèd but still like totally attractive land lady, Mrs Madrigal who I suspect will be a permanent cast member, given subsequent titles. Alas, Mrs Madrigal also gives off a creepy vibe to us normies.

    “Do you have any objection to pets,” asked the new tenant.
    “Dear … I have no objection to anything.”

    Okay then! Am I being too suspicious? A quick check showed that the author, indeed, came out a homo himself in the same timeframe.

    Also in evidence was that much of what is hateful in modern society was prefigured in this book (and I’m not even a third into it). Actually, I would say it’s worse in the book than what we have today, so gosh guys, still some way to go. Was this the general mood of SF in the 70s or just the bath house subculture? Early but all too clear signs of the poz.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 21, 2016 at 1:10 pm

      I vaguely remember seeing that done on TV. Mrs Madrigal sounds familiar.

      Somewhere I have some articles on the history of the acceptance of homosexuality (I think from a Facebook page on the ?Cornell library of human sexuality, or some such name.)

      Certainly there were early bits of propaganda. I remember a film touching on young homosexuals years ago. I remember a line about how one day we would all be “degenerates.” And Shirley MacLaine I think it was, had an early role in a film about Lesbian teachers at a girls’ school which was sympathetic.

      I wonder at the motivation of that young man dressed as a maid above. For I am pretty sure now that is a “sissy maid.”

      The Internet has made it easier for perverts to form groups and exchange information and for ordinary people to be exposed to them. I come across new perversions or paraphilias still. As for gender identity, some cross-dressers can look VERY convincing due to makeup, hormones, or natural effeminacy.

      Reply

  6. Perhaps the best argument that it’s really a boy is, beyond Hearthie’s analysis of the face and hair, the fact that this individual is wearing a “French Maid” outfit that doesn’t show anything. The whole point of such an outfit for most people is to wear something seductive and show off enough to distract someone in the living room from his football game, but without totally scandalizing the neighbors who might be walking the dog. Missing the point of the genre this way speaks to motivations, I dare say.

    Plus, as another noted, the shoulders are pretty strong, and it’s not clear that the waist is smaller than the hips.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 21, 2016 at 11:25 pm

      Yes. The whole point of the French maid fetish is the humiliation. The aim is not primarily to look sexy.

      Dressing up in an elaborate costume redolent of feminine servitude is the idea. I have never quite worked out if such men are masochists or effeminate passive homosexuals.

      Reply

    • I don’t think that the maid outfit is “French maid”, as much as “English Victorian maid”.

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 23, 2016 at 1:22 am

        Yes. Which was one reason I was thinking cosplay or steampunk.

        But I am now pretty sure the above individual is male.

      • Fair enough, I’ll fess up to not knowing every particular genre of Halloween costume. :^)

        That said, if you’re talking cosplay or steampunk, the fact remains that the genre requires showing something off, no? It’s not for no reason, after all, that steampunk is bringing back the corset. And so the central point remains; he’s saying who he is by ignoring some non-negotiables to people ordinarily working that genre.

Leave a Reply

