This looks worth watching

I mentioned this in a previous post. I have just started watching it. It is an Agatha Christie crime story (of Tommy and Tuppence Beresford, a husband and wife detective team). I must say it begins well, with Tommy showing a robust attitude to his woman:

http://iview.abc.net.au/programs/agatha-christies-partners-in-crime/ZW0003A001S00#playing

partners-in-crime

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve watched three episodes. It is terrible in the usual ways: She is a spunky nag who orders him around and gets herself into stupidly dangerous situations–for which she is called a heroine after she is rescued. But really it is the nagging and condescension she heaps on her husband which makes garbage of what should be fun.

    My wife, at my wondering if this is really the work of the unusually clear-eyed Agatha Christie, picked up the books. She reports that the characters in the book are wholly unrecognizable in the show. He is not a lazy coward, but rather unfazed and unshakeable from the evidence. She is not a nag, but a good sport matched to a keen intuition.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on September 14, 2016 at 12:12 am

      Yes. I fear you are correct. I was disappointed particularly in one scene in the first episode (I doubt I will be seeking out the others) in which Tuppence (the wife) is wearing a blonde wig. Tommy expresses erotic interest in her as a result. Twice. The second time he says something like, you are welcome to wear that at home. She smacks him down verbally like a naughty puppy.

      No wonder he is morose if his wife is not interested in having sex with him. I have just remembered another scene in their actual bedroom in which it is strongly implied he is not “getting any”.

      Perhaps he will “butch up” as the series progresses.

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on September 14, 2016 at 2:54 am

        My problem is that the Tuppence actress is very much my type. But I am not blind to the depressing messages about men and women this series sends, like many media offerings today.

        A movie that “does it right” by pleasing both men and women (at least a fairly “liberated” woman I once discussed it with), is the old Arnie and Jamie Lee Curtis movie True Lies.

Leave a Reply

