Transgender woman makes classic female gesture

“Catherine” McGregor (born Malcolm McGregor):

0983dd73f6f3270c2928914cc6ef35f6

He has certainly learned to use that gesture (hand to the throat or upper chest with a loose wrist) in his transition to being a “woman”.

That is an old-fashioned bit of body language, which I have only ever seen women use.

Recent news on this transgender woman, including a less flattering picture, although “she” is doing quite a nice feminine head tilt, here.

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. The Star Observer makes one of the more pleasing typos I’ve seen:

    “I see you are fascist now reading the fucking article… take your witch hunt elsewhere,” one email said.

    “You did me a favour, I’ve resigned from all my LGBTI roles… I’m not going to be intimidated by Safe Schools or the Victorian left.

    “You won’t like it (media exposure), where this would go.”

    Gerber said she couldn’t expect forwarding an email on to McGregor would illicit this kind of response.

    Ilicit, indeed!

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on September 6, 2016 at 6:04 am

      I think of that as a kind of “learned error”. I noticed that even in that article on the heavy industry of American poetry I cited at my previous post, the witty fellow wrote obtuse when he meant abstruse.

      If knowledgeable people can’t get the vocabulary right, who can?

      Reply

      • Who knows, it could be a major force in the development of new words or new meanings in language!

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on September 6, 2016 at 7:47 am

        Maybe, but that “obtuse” for abstruse one drives me nuts.

        The funniest malapropism I ever heard (apart from my wife who has always come out with some beauts) was the time I heard a senior public servant in a meeting refer (twice if I recall) to a “blancmange” of issues. He meant melange.

      • I have just been reminded of a few of the very learned mistakes of a favourite writer of mine, Brian Aldiss. Since I am a pedant I listed a few of them in a blog review I did a few years ago:

        Occasionally he attempts to clobber you with strange, unheard of words from the depths of his home dictionary:

        The basic imaginative donné of the pulps…

        In fact, according to both Dictionary.com and the Oxford Dictionary, this word is ‘donnée’*. If you tease the reader with obscure words then get the spelling wrong, you’re unlikely to be caught out. But it means you’re probably doing it more to impress than to make an argumentative point…

        More strange and wondrous are various mispellings and slips of the fingers. He mentions horror writer L P Lovecraft (a confusion of L P Hartley and H P Lovecraft, perhaps?) In an essay on French writer Jules Verne, Aldiss compares him to the ‘two great English writers Henrik Ibsen and Leo Tolstoy’. Has Aldiss arranged some kind of posthumous English-Russian writerly exchange program? I would love to see a novel by the English author Leo Tolstoy. Or, for that matter, a play by the Russian writer Oscar Wilde. These Aldissian Slips are signs of the speed and prolixity with which the author is able to rattle of cultural references and names and are quite tantalising in their own way: by not saying what their writer means, they mean more than they should.

        This is what I took your phrase ‘learned error’ to imply: the errors are indeed present here but they seem to gain a rich expressive quality partly due to the copious eloquence and intelligence of the author.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on September 6, 2016 at 8:35 am

        I suppose what I was getting at was that malapropisms are essentially “learned errors”, the errors of a learned man or woman.

        To write illicit for elicit, one must have heard of illicit. My wife’s malapropisms seem to come from using words she has read in place of other words when speaking. For example, she wanted to refer once to an anhydrous substance and she called it androgynous.

        She once referred to the Profumo Affair as the Perfumo Affair (which is actually what profumo means in Italian). Another one was the time she asked me, “What do Scots call the English? Sasquatches?” [sassenachs]

Leave a Reply

