Another cute short-haired brunette

H/T Chris Gale. Chris thought this video might have inspired my poem. No. But it is a powerful music video. The woman playing the girl in the car is Irish actress Elaine Cassidy. In any case, I think she seems lovely in the video, which ends sadly. I have set it up to begin when she appears.

.

She can be seen below  in the role of “Lucy Honeychurch” in “A Room With a View”.

She is playing an English girl here, although I think she is very typical of some Irish women. I have wondered, semi-seriously, if my attraction to girls like this is some “race memory” from my Irish side.

 

lucy_honeychurch.jpg

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Reminds me…. I was quite taken way back when with the dark, short haired gal in ‘Northern Exposure’. Janine Turner. Of course, that was back far enough for feminism to be not quite as nasty and dirty as today. It has been written (somewhere..) “after playing enough pretty, flighty women she decided to stop taking those types of roles, determined to make a change. As a result, she didn’t work again for a while, and by the time Northern Exposure came calling, she was down to her last eight dollars. She was thrilled to take the role of pilot Maggie O’Connell, a job that made her a household name.””. Feisty, pretty AND a pilot-ga – what a combination 🙂 http://www.biography.com/news/northern-exposure-cast-where-are-they-now

    Reply

  2. What do you think about the race memory idea more generally? I have wondered the same thing about my affection for cold weather. Of course it’s easy to find justifications for race memory in any old thing – Jung or whoever it was came up with the idea probably didn’t care that much about the science in the end. But it is a very interesting idea.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on May 4, 2016 at 12:19 am

      I don’t know. On cold weather, I am a cold-adapted human with the right build for it. But I don’t like the cold. I tend to prefer hot dry weather.

      As for a scientific version of race memory, maybe. For example, one theory is that we are attracted to people who look like us. “Genetic similarity theory.” Or maybe some kind of “green beard effect”.

      Men certainly often report having a type and mine tends to be the Irish or English look. That girl above for example. Although I prefer blue eyes. And that describes the woman I married.

      Reply

  3. […] have written about the possible role of “race memory” before, for example “genetic similarity theory“. Perhaps it is not the most […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

