“A perfect secretary’s outfit”

I notice, looking at this old post of mine, that it is adorned with this picture. I mainly thought that she looked severe and critical, but I now see that what she is wearing is described as “a perfect secretary’s outfit”.

6290fc791a06ced1e87b5fdb4ab24743

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. The skirt is too short – her calves are shapely but one is distracted by the not so attractive knees… and when sitting the skirt would ride up too much. (An occasion to apply the less is more principle.) A longer skirt would improve the general effect too, lengthening the overall outfit so that the jacket doesn’t seem disproportionately long. (Women ought to have longer legs and shorter torso than a man, but this outfit doesn’t take advantage of that.) The platforms in the shoes and the stiletto heels are furthermore unnecessary – secretaries are supposed to be sensible and a tad more ‘classic’. Otherwise, I don’t mind it.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 29, 2016 at 6:28 am

      Interesting, Mishka. It is always good to get a woman’s expert eye cast over these things. From a masculine perspective, she looks rather good; although I do think she could smile a little.

      There is something a bit stripperesque about the heels.

      Karna tends to wear suits, but she usually has more length in the skirt. (I am not sure, but I think men actually have longer legs than women, proportionally.)

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 29, 2016 at 6:29 am

        I like the short hair and ivory smooth skin; although I suspect that she actually has her hair “up”.

      • No, proportionally women have longer legs and the feminine ideal is 1.4 times the torso: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/perfect-legs-nicoles-got-them-so-has-little-tom-418319.html (And, yes, I think her hair is up rather than short.)

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 29, 2016 at 7:22 am

        Interesting. I didn’t know that. Certainly most men find long legs on women attractive. It is my impression that taller girls are relatively leggy.

      • Yes, I think height helps. Nicole Kidman is 6ft which is arguably “too tall” for a woman. (Elizabeth I who was 5’9″ famously declared Mary Queen of Scots who was 6′ “too tall”.) Comparatively, I’m 5’9″ and have a slightly lower ratio of 1.35 – not quite perfect according to the article above. I knew a woman with a disproportionately long torso and it was difficult to conceal. I don’t think people looked at her and immediately twigged that was the problem, but it certainly marred her attractiveness. Likewise, men with long legs look absurd. It’s not a conscious thing for most people, but it does affect one’s general impression. Nicole Kidman may be ‘perfect’ to look at, but in real life she could be ‘too tall’ for her husband. 😉

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 29, 2016 at 7:54 am

        I sometimes tease Karna by calling her a leggy brunette. But she IS quite long-legged, which I attribute to her height. She is 5 foot 7 inches. I am 5 foot 11 inches. So it works.

        The other thing about taller girls is that they seem to me to age well. Short women can easily get the granny look very quickly.

        Karna had a good build for a showgirl (per impossibile). Broad shoulders, fairly busty, and long limbed.

Leave a Reply

