Do we really want women au naturel?

A commenter on a recent post objected to the amount of makeup that the girls shown were wearing.

His remark made me think and I discussed it with a couple of people.

I suppose I would say that a moderate amount of makeup is not a bad thing.

It is part of being human to present oneself clothed and groomed. For most Western women this implies wearing something attractive and flattering; being clean; maybe wearing perfume; and probably with a fair amount of natural body hair removed.

Adding a little makeup (or even more than a little to achieve certain effects) does not seem any less appropriate, in the sense of normal for the human species. Almost all humans adorn themselves to some degree.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1431863777950 (1)

2 responses to this post.

  1. A friend once said to me (partly in jest) that women should receive tax deductions for their make-up as it lessens offences against our aesthetic sensibilities. Though I favour minimal natural-looking make-up, I think he had a point.

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 28, 2015 at 12:43 pm

      I suspect like most men, I rarely think about it. I simply see the end-results and do not speculate too often on how they are achieved.

      I suppose, on reflection, I see two types of old photographs of my wife. In some, she looks pretty and girl-next-door. Perhaps in those we were outdoors and she was wearing little if any makeup. In others, she looks more elegant and dressed-up and those seem to involve her wearing a bit more makeup.

      As I said in a previous comment, she has never worn much makeup but her good skin and pleasant features have made her attractive – to my eyes certainly.

      I have a book which shows before and after versions of women applying makeup and the contrast is often startling. And, of course, there are all those magazine features of “stars without their makeup”. On the other hand, particularly bad photos are probably selected.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

