Something on corsets

Here.

Some women still wear them to get married in. I seem to recall my wife doing this. As one of the commenters here says, “Very true! I got married in a custom made corset and it is really not uncomfortable. In the beginning you have to get used to it, but it also gives a lot of support!”

Here is a poem I wrote some time ago on a wedding corset. It was the first poem (other than haiku) that I ever had accepted for publication:

Wedding Corset

I remember
how her
wedding corset
chased her
white lambs
uphill.
But later still
I captured them
with my bare
hands; her two
lambs became
my pets too.

Julian O’Dea

I always imagined that 19th century dress would be very hot in warm climates. But maybe not. People in hot climates often seem to wear plenty of clothes to cover up from the sun (e.g. in North Africa). In my experience, one can feel just as hot and uncomfortable in very light attire in warm weather as when more fully dressed.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I rather like corsets, on reasonably slim gals. Not fatties though. Some are quite pretty, feminine, alluring.

    Reply

    • I don’t have a “corset fetish” like some men; and a surprising number of women too; it being one of the rare fetishes that women seem attracted to as well.

      But yeah, they can be cute.

      I remember my wife wearing one when we got married. They are quite common for brides even today. I understand they help to make the wedding dress look good. (And the girl of course!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

