Singing about her “alpha male”

Irish singer Mary Black singing the Scots ballad “Annachie Gordon”.

“Annachie Gordon” is the exciting alpha male.

“Jeannie” would rather die than marry the beta male, Lord Saltoun, despite his wealth.

The lyrics are given below (some minor deviations from the Mary Black version are likely). I have marked in bold those lyrics which relate to female sexual attraction.

“Annachie Gordon

Harking is bonny and there lives my love
My heart lies on him and cannot remove
It cannot remove for all that I have done
And I never will forget my love Annachie
For Annachie Gordon he’s bonny and he’s rough
He’d entice any woman that e’er he saw
He’d entice any woman and so he has done me
And I never will forget my love Annachie

Down came her father and he’s standing at the door
Saying Jeannie you are trying the tricks of a whore
You care nothing for a man who cares so much for thee
You must marry Lord Saltoun and leave Annachie
For Annachie Gordon is barely but a man
Although he may be pretty but where are his lands
The Saltoun’s lands are broad and his towers they run high
You must marry Lord Saltoun and leave Annachie.

With Annachie Gordon I’d beg for my bread
And before I marry Saltoun his gold to my head
With gold to my head and straight down to my knee
And I’ll die if I don’t get my love Annachie
And you who are my parents to church you may me bring
But unto Lord Saltoun I’ll never bear a son
To a son or a daughter I’ll never bow my knee
And I’ll die if I don’t get my love Annachie.

Jeannie was married and from church was brought home
When she and her maidens so merry should have been
When she and her maidens so merry should have been
She goes into her chamber and cries all alone.

Come to bed my Jeannie my honey and my sweet
To style you my mistress it would be so sweet
Be it mistress or Jeannie it’s all the same to me
But in your bed Lord Saltoun I never will lie
And down came her father and he’s spoken with renown
Saying you who are her maidens
Go loosen up her gowns
And she fell down to the floor
And straight down to his knee saying
Father look I’m dying for my love Annachie.

The day that Jeannie married was the day that Jeannie died
And the day that young Annachie came home on the tide
Saying oh it’s been so long, you’ve been so long on the sands
So long on the sands, so long on the flood
They have married your Jeannie and now she lies dead.

You who are her maidens come take me by the hand
And lead me to the chamber where my love she lies in
And he kissed her cold till his heart it turned to stone
And he died in the chamber where his love she lies in.”

Mary Black was 25 in the above video. Here she is singing the beautiful ballad (poem really) Raglan Road in 1986, when she was 31. I think she is a good case of a woman improving in appearance as she got a bit more mature.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jim on October 19, 2015 at 12:53 am

    It amazes me how often they talk about being “strong and independent” while in the very next breath they get off to being strongly dominated. It’s like their little brainwashed feminist heads are fighting their own feminine instincts. When you think about it that must be very confusing for a woman. Not only that but extremely frustrating.

    Reply

    • Well, people are complex and they have mixed motives.

      Also, it will depend on what stage of life (and their menstrual cycle) they are at. When a woman is ovulating, she is much more interested in dominant men. (You can often guess when a female blogger is ovulating, as they will admit themselves.)

      I sometimes wonder if modern girls are capable of running two programs (the Saudi program and the Swedish program, you might call them). If they can snare a dominant alpha, they will happily submit (and behave like “Saudi” women). If not, they take the “strong, independent, feminist” line and go career woman and the “Swedish” egalitarian route.

      As for being dominated, a man who has not seen a woman in the full throes of her submissive instincts would not believe what they can be like.

      Reply

      • Posted by Jim on October 19, 2015 at 3:08 am

        “I sometimes wonder if modern girls are capable of running two programs (the Saudi program and the Swedish program, you might call them). If they can snare a dominant alpha, they will happily submit (and behave like “Saudi” women). If not, they take the “strong, independent, feminist” line and go career woman and the “Swedish” egalitarian route.”

        Hmmm, that’s an interesting point. Sounds to me like there are too many pussy boys out there. IOW, there’s not enough to go around.

        “As for being dominated, a man who has not seen a woman in the full throes of her submissive instincts would not believe what they can be like.”

        Most of us guys are just so brainwashed into this egalitarian silliness that they think they’re committing some kind of crime be being what we are: men.

        There are nasty bitches that are just plain evil no matter what though. I do wonder if women would act less psychotic if there were enough men who just had enough balls to say “NO”.

      • I don’t wonder about it at all; they do. Often the only difference is the setting. As in strong independent type at work and then an hour later, at my house, sitting at my feet with the dogs, happy at peace with the world.

      • Women – always at your neck or at your feet.

        The same girl will be a lioness with a man she sees as weak, but purr like a kitten for the right man.

        This is why a lot of men wonder what went wrong – what happened to the sweet girl she once was? Nothing happened to her: you changed.

    • The funny thing is that 80 to 90 per cent of women respond very favourable to “chauvinism” online. But it is only the screechy few percent that one hears from in public.

      I get the distinct impression at times that most women are only too relieved to have some “realtalk” come their way.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Glengarry on October 24, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    The last lines seemed like a bit of wishful thinking on her part though.

    “And [Annachie] kissed her cold till his heart it turned to stone
    And he died in the chamber where his love she lies in.”

    Or he walked out in sorrow, sat down, had a pint / and let the next wench console him.

    Reply

    • Yes. Good point. It has to follow the ballad tradition though and have him do that.

      But you are right. He would have been more likely just to think she was a silly bitch and get on with his life.

      The end of the ballad is not “red pill.”

      Reply

  3. Posted by Julian O'Dea on November 23, 2015 at 3:01 am

Leave a Reply

