Food Fight

I noticed an interesting contrast in two websites on “gender issues” or “sexual lifestyles” and their approaches to how men and women should eat the family meal.

From the Worshipping Your Wife blog, a recent post:

“In our family the Women are large and strong, while the calories are restricted for us males.

Here’s how mealtimes embody this families dynamic: My son and I must wait for the lasses to start first, so they get first choice in certain foods. Either we start to eat only after the lasses have already begun their meal, or we may eat at a later time.

Either way we have smaller portions

In this way, the most basic apportionment of power in the family is demonstrated through the apportionment of calories.”

By contrast, here are the women of the Stepford Wives blog:

“Carolyn, my sister, always hovers over James while he eats. She continues serving his meal, freshening his drink and bussing the dishes back and forth until the courses are all served. After that, she sits down and listens to how his day went.

I’m a little different. I sit with an empty plate in front of me while Charles eats: I don’t get up until he needs something. Whatever Charles doesn’t finish, he forks his leftovers to my empty plate and after I get him his next course, I eat whatever he doesn’t want. That way, we have time to catch up.

Both Georgina and Jane dress themselves up nicely and sit quietly smiling across from their husbands while the husbands eat. They feel the man should come home at the end of the day to a nice home, a warm meal and a beautiful wife among their possessions. Georgina feels nourished enough if she gets an approving stroke on her head from Edwin. Most of the time though, Mr. Thomas just tells her to go sit in the other room while he eats …

I’m the only one who actually eats anything at the dinner table, most of the girls settle for something light in the kitchen afterwards, because our men think being thin is more important than being fed.”

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jim on March 13, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    It’s interesting, yes. But the men in the first website you posted are laughably pathetic. Women are not biologically programmed to respect a male simp.

    Reply

  2. Uh, no one can just eat with their husband, giving them bigger portions ’cause they’re bigger and do more physical labor?

    Reply

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on March 13, 2015 at 10:06 pm

      Well, yes. When we first started eating together, my wife put me at the head of the table and she always serves the meal and waits on me, although these days that I am retired I may cook the actual dinner.

      I don’t think she gives me bigger portions, although she used to have a tendency to over-feed me.

      Reply

    • Posted by Anonymous Reader on March 20, 2015 at 3:15 pm

      Personally, I’d find this dining style more interesting for both parties. Julian may even recognize the movie.

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on March 22, 2015 at 2:58 am

        It looks like Tom Jones, or a parody of the eating scene. But I am not sure.

Leave a Reply

