Metropolitan (1990)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Julian O'Dea on March 1, 2015 at 4:03 am

    I only just found this review, and thought it was worth “reblogging”, if partly to see what “reblogging” involves. Anyway, it is a good appreciative review, and the writer shares my liking for the “Audrey Rouget” character.

    He also writes this: “Audrey Rouget (Carolyn Farina) is a fantastic creation, a bit more intellectual that the other girls and less overtly trafficking in relationship, a descendant of Austen, whose work she admires. She rocks a shorter haircut whose appreciation of which, if Michelle Williams is to be trusted, surely makes me gay.” (The latter apparently relates to an actress called Michelle Williams who has trademark short hair, which she says only gay men like.)

    As I have written before, like this reviewer, I find short hair on women sexy.

    Reply

    • “As I have written before, like this reviewer, I find short hair on women sexy.”

      Julian likes torturing me. 😛

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on March 1, 2015 at 5:12 am

        What can I say? There is nothing like breaking in a boyish, pretty bluestocking. I wish I had been in that movie world. I would have done better than stupid Tom.

        (That is pretty much what I did in real life; and I am still married to her.)

      • Hope you two will continue to have a happy marriage. I’m sure you will since there is no power struggle since (I assume) it’s devoid of feminist nonsense.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on March 2, 2015 at 12:25 am

        Thanks, Jim. Not entirely devoid of “feminist nonsense”. We live in a world permeated by it. But good instincts (husband and wife) go a long way.

        I wanted to soften that comment because it came out sounding a bit harsh. I think men should pick a good one and stick to her. Unfortunately the number of girls with their youth and freshness to offer is not as large as it once was.

Leave a Reply

