Expiating the Sin of Eve

Reading a woman’s magazine can be like being the only man in a roomful of women all gabbing away. After a while, they may forget you are there and you may hear the most interesting things.

I once read in a women’s magazine something like “we [meaning women] all feel that we missed out a bit because we were born female”. I think there is something in this. Deep down, women do feel that they are only the Daughters of Eve, not the Sons of Adam. I thought this when I read Matt Forney’s latest contribution.

How to Crush a Girl’s Self-Esteem.

I particularly liked this remark, which accords with my own experience and suspicions: “As a friend of mine put it, all girls crave spankings; it’s their way of making up for Eve’s sin.”

Matt was also generous enough to credit me with this invention: the ‘broken windows’ theory of dealing with a wife.

Contemporary women are like so many little bobbing balloons filled with gaseous self-esteem. All they really need is a prick.

[LATER: I was interested by Matt’s application of the “broken windows” principle in the opposite direction. I certainly agree that gradually introducing a woman to what you really ultimately want is good psychology. However I don’t approve of his example. Anal sex. Yes, anally penetrating a woman is very enjoyable, but as a good Catholic boy I am not willing to go to Hell for the pleasure. Such matters are much on my mind lately, since I am reading Sade’s Juliette.]

14 responses to this post.

  1. Mr O’Dea, I tried to send you an email but it did not go through (I finally found your email address, btw). I got return to sender, their email box is full.

    It was a semi-long proposal for a really awesome blogpost/theory (sorry, a bit exciting I think I made a good discovery).

    Reply

    • Okay, resent it went through

      Reply

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 3, 2014 at 11:49 pm

        I have yet to see it.

      • *checks* Oh, the “return to sender” went to spam.

        It’s quite long, definitely controversial (but in a good way) and I’d prefer to discuss it first privately with you before revealing it.

        Wait, can you not approve the comment if I post it? (sorry, a ‘lil ditzy) I’d prefer your responses to me be private, too.

        Sorry about the email issues. I know the feeling. Especially when my ISP auto-labels Japanese-emails as “Spam” and deletes them before they hit my inbox.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 4, 2014 at 12:01 am

        Yes, all comments go to moderation now, so I can keep our discussion private.

        I have received your proposal.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 4, 2014 at 12:14 am

        OK. That looks interesting. Write it up and I am pretty sure I can just pop it on this blog as a guest post. It sounds interesting. Don’t be afraid to be as blunt as you like.

      • Well, I’m approaching it from a research perspective. Gonna cite lots of books. So it might take a few days.

        I’m tempted to split it up; start with the last part first.

      • Did you ban me from your blog? None of my comments have been going through, or going into moderation, either 😦

      • I tried to comment on a few of your new posts but none of my comments went through/showed up in moderation.

        Also I said that the article should be done by Monday.

      • *worries I offended you somehow* I’m sorry if I did. (…I mean, I realize I don’t get along with most Christians) I never meant for my own personal issues with religion to somehow insult you or your faith. You have always been respectful to me and I greatly appreciate that.

      • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 15, 2014 at 8:02 am

        Sorry, BF, for some reason your comments were going to spam. I have pulled them all out.

    • Posted by Julian O'Dea on February 3, 2014 at 11:32 pm

      Yes, we seem to be having some trouble with our email and I will look into that today.

      Do you want to put your blog post proposal in a comment here? I can simply look at it and then remove it if you like. Or I can put the blog post up as a guest post if you are ready.

      Reply

  2. I once read in a women’s magazine something like “we [meaning women] all feel that we missed out a bit because we were born female”. I think there is something in this. Deep down, women do feel that they are only the Daughters of Eve, not the Sons of Adam. I thought this when I read Matt Forney’s latest contribution.

    Well, I know some women who seem bitter about men having all the fun (psssh; men can’t wear glitter dresses or like Hello Kitty erasers) and take an nigh-anarchist Sour Grapes approach and try to rain on their parade.

    A Churchian example of this is women who attempt to portray all male hobbies as inherently sinful. For example, not letting their sons join sports teams or scouting organizations.

    Reply

  3. *Sorry, snowstorm sort-of threw me off this week* the article should be done on Monday. Sorry for keeping you waiting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

