The “broken windows” theory of crime, and dealing with women and children

The “broken windows” theory of crime:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broken_windows_theory

The basic insight of the “broken windows” theory is that serious crime is kept low when petty crime such as vandalism is kept down. Lesser crimes leave the way open for greater crimes. At least that is my reading of it.

How does this remind me of handling a wife? Like this. As a husband, I have found that arguing with my wife about her “lesser crimes” seems to prevent worse “crimes”. I think women are – “given an inch” –  inclined to “take an ell”. That is, they will behave about as badly as you allow them to. If you argue with the missus about how long her skirts should be, you will not be arguing with her about whether she should wear skirts in the first place. If you are like me, and you prefer your wife not to wear pants (trousers), this is a better argument to have than one about skirts vs pants.

Likewise, if you remonstrate with her about the quality of her meals, you will not be arguing about whether she should cook at all.

Or if you complain that something she wears out looks tarty, you will not be arguing about whether she should flirt or not. Or, more seriously, if you argue and complain about her flirting, you are less likely to find yourself arguing about whether you should have an “open marriage”.

So, punish and deal with the minor crimes, to prevent the major crimes. Deal with broken windows, lest you have to deal with arson.

A wife will test the boundaries. Set them narrow. Don’t let her do outrageous things without any complaint from you, because she will eventually test you and go too far, and then it will be too late.

The same applies to children.

If you are a husband who wants to be an effective head of the house, this is something to keep in mind.

Here is an example of what NOT to do:

http://www.marriedmansexlife.com/2010/11/dont-facilitate-her-affair.html

[1 June 2013: Here is something further on the need to stop a wife's disrespect immediately, which SunshineMary discusses at her blog.]

36 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Obsidian on November 23, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    Hi Dave,
    Got wind of your blog by way of Alte, and that to drop by and say hello. Your post here looks very interesting and I await your fleshing it all out. Best of luck to you on your blog!

    O.

    Reply

  2. [...] The “broken window theory” of crime, and dealing with women and children (davidcollard.wordpress.com) [...]

    Reply

  3. Posted by Marvelous White Male on April 30, 2011 at 6:32 am

    “they will behave about as badly as you allow them to.”

    People will treat you how you let them.

    Therefore – rewards and punishments.

    Reward good behaviour, punish the bad.

    I find this approach to life saves time as then there are no petty arguments.

    Humans repsond well to Pavlovian techniques – better than animals in fact!

    Reply

  4. You’re a twat. Women- and children for that matter – are not dogs to be treated with rewards and punishments. If this is the way you treat your wife I sure hope she spits in your morning coffee before she hands it to you.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Slanderella on March 8, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Congratulations on treating other humans like chattel. Great job. You’ll be lucky if she doesn’t shoot you in your sleep.

    Reply

  6. It’s just you and your hand every night, right?

    “A NARCISSIST WITH A HIGHLY ABUSIVE PERSONALITY” – Truer words have never been written.

    Reply

  7. Hi Mike

    Married 26 years, three kids, just had my cock sucked by the missus last week …

    How’s your love life?

    David

    Reply

  8. Posted by YHWH on March 9, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Thou must repent of thine sins by eating food in the manner which I, the Lord thu God, hath prescribed to thee. No chewing, and no cutting thine food.

    Reply

  9. I find it quite hard to believe that any woman would be attracted to a misogynistic prick like you. So, what’s the deal? Do you punish your wife if she doesn’t suck your cock? That’s the only way I can think of that any woman actually would suck it.

    Reply

  10. quietdove, she wants affection. Sometimes I get her to suck my cock beforehand. Simple.

    Reply

  11. I’m guessing these douchey losers came from FSTDT.

    Bunch of insufferable faggots. Go away.

    Reply

    • Yes, it was one of their silly little campaigns. Hysterics with reading comprehension problems.

      Reply

    • Wow, how utterly immature. Tell me, are you capable at all of showing compassion to others, including those whom you disagree with, such as the members of FSTDT? Or are you just yet another Republican (or libertarian) sociopath?

      Reply

      • My first experience with the members of FSTDT involved several of them threatening me with physical violence on my own blog, so go peddle your “compassion” elsewhere. As far as Republicans and libertarians both are concerned, they can collectively smoke my pole for all the crap I give about them.

      • Had you said anything on your blog that could have warranted that level of anger and aggression from them? After all, in all of my years of reading FSTDT, I’ve never seen them get angry or aggressive without having a good reason for it. And you don’t exactly seem like the kind of person who would ever refrain from insulting others. So, tell me, was that blog entry filled with insults towards atheists, freethinkers, or any of the other types of people who frequent FSTDT? If it was, then why are you surprised that they got aggressive towards you, when you incited that attitude from them?

      • So, I suppose Proph doesn’t deserve any compassion whenever he says something that you disagree with?

        Looks like another collective leftist bitchfest. That’s all they do because they have nothing better to do besides masturbate and watch anime.

      • Since when is provoking people the same thing as saying something that people disagree with? What I said was that he was probably provoking people, in which case he shouldn’t have been surprised that they reacted in anger. Learn some reading comprehension, please.

        Oh, and by the way, I have plenty to do during the day. And I don’t often masturbate (I’m asexual) and the only anime I’ve ever watched is Studio Ghibli movies, which most anime fans don’t even count as real anime. Nice try, though.

      • Svar, it is an Orwellian “two-minute hate”:

        http://forums.fstdt.com/QuoteComment.aspx?QID=86356&Page=2

        quietdove, I am fascinated to hear that you don’t often masturbate, that you are asexual, and so on, but why don’t you live up to your name and go away and be quiet?

      • So expressing one’s opinion on things that others publicly post online is Orwellian now? Huh. And here I was thinking that that was just a way for people to exercise their Freedom of Speech.

        Speaking of which, why should I have to be quiet just because you tell me to? Do you think you should be able to dictate what I can and cannot say? How fascist of you.

      • Posted by Kathy on March 14, 2012 at 12:36 am

        Exactly David..

        I have a better name for quietdove.

        dumbdove is more apt, I think. :D

      • “Since when is provoking people the same thing as saying something that people disagree with? What I said was that he was probably provoking people, in which case he shouldn’t have been surprised that they reacted in anger. Learn some reading comprehension, please.”

        Do you know that he was provoking people? You bitch about “Freedom of Speech”. Do you not extend that to Proph or does that only apply to the whiny twats of the world like the fine people at FSTDT?

        “How fascist of you.”

        Cute. The fascist ad hominem doesn’t work anymore. This isn’t the 1960’s.

        “Speaking of which, why should I have to be quiet just because you tell me to? Do you think you should be able to dictate what I can and cannot say? ”

        It’s his blog… so yeah, he could just delete your stupid comments and you can’t do anything about it. Trotsky once said, “Stupidity is a right”. We disagree.

        “Oh, and by the way, I have plenty to do during the day. And I don’t often masturbate (I’m asexual) and the only anime I’ve ever watched is Studio Ghibli movies, which most anime fans don’t even count as real anime. Nice try, though.”

        Just like David, I too am fascinated by how often you touch yourself and the shitty anime you watch. If you had something better to do, then why bitch at this blog where no one cares about your opinion?

        It’s time to fly along now, DingBird.

      • Posted by Kathy on March 14, 2012 at 1:18 am

        The Ding Dong Song for the DingBird. ;)

  12. Posted by Disillusioned black girl. on March 13, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    Wow, Asshole gets called out for his obvious abuse. Asshole validates abuse with his penis and shows no remorse for abuse. People like this do not exist.

    You’re playing a character, surely. And people must just be eating it up. It’s the only explanation.

    Reply

    • “You’re playing a character, surely. And people must just be eating it up. It’s the only explanation.”

      If that makes you feel better.

      Reply

  13. Posted by Ian on March 13, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    That’s a cute way to dress up psychologically abusing your wife and children. Maybe you should give respecting them as human beings a try, and actually talk to your wife about what you want instead of manipulating her.

    Reply

  14. Wife provided breakfast in bed this morning. Tomato on toast and hot black tea. Nice.

    She is losing weight too and looks pretty good for her age.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Kathy on March 13, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    You forgot to mention the spanking when she gets out of line David. :)

    A good rogering (whether she is in the mood or not) usually puts a woman in her place as well.

    Shows her who is boss.

    Reply

    • She enjoys being spanked. It is not really a punishment. It makes her wet for sex.

      BTW “punishment” means silent treatment or raising my voice. Nothing more.

      We are both much happier now, Kathy, since I learned a bit of Game.

      I did once give her a good rogering to remind her who was the man. Consensual though.

      Reply

      • David, you misunderstood Kathy. She was telling you to keep up the good work.

        “I did once give her a good rogering to remind her who was the man. Consensual though.”

        Why only once?

        These FSTDT fags are annoying. They remind me of the FreeJinger whores we had to deal with a while back.

      • Svar, I know Kathy well (online), so I get her point.

        When I fuck my wife, I fuck her hard most of the time. One time, she had been a bit cheeky, so I took her upstairs and gave her one to remind her who was the man. Consensual. It was Xmas Day. It is often hot here, and people go a bit crazy.

  16. I followed the link from the other debate. I can’t say I agree with your sentiments. However, I don’t think it matters. You’re both consenting adults in a successful marriage. She has accepted your authority, and this is the method you’ve decided on on, so hey. Congratulations on the recent retirement, by the way.

    Reply

    • Thank you. I have found ways to keep my wife and myself both happy. She seems to like our basically hierarchical arrangement. As do I.

      Reply

      • You’re welcome. The part where you’re both happy is what I had to come back to in the end. I am slowly learning step back, be quiet, and respect other people’s choices as such. :) I suspect we would still disagree on some societal issues or how other marriages should be shaped, but I can support traditional couples as long as both are consenting to the arrangement.

  17. […] Matt was also generous enough to credit me with this invention: the ‘broken windows’ theory of dealing with a wife. […]

    Reply

  18. […] of my points here seem relevant too. Set the bar high, and keep raising […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

